Workshops & Volunteer Activities

Gravestone Cleaning Dates (for Trained Participants)

You must be trained to participate and per the new Town Policy you must now register in advance or will not be allowed to participate. Contact Cheryle or June prior to each date you wish to participate in.

Bring a kneeling pad and waterproof gloves of your choice, and if possible, a gallon or two of water. All other materials are supplied by the Friends. Please contact us by email if you are interested.

2017 Cleaning Dates:

Upcoming Gravestone Conservation Workshops

Friday, May 19 – 2-4PM

Saturday, May 20 – 8-10AM

Friday, June 2 – 2-4PM

Friday, June 9 – 2-4PM

Saturday, June 10 – 8-10AM

Friday, June 16 – 2-4PM

Saturday, June 17 – 8-10AM

Friday, June 30 – 2-4PM

Saturday, July 1 – 8-10AM

Friday, July 7 – 2-4PM

Saturday, July 8 – 8-10AM

Friday, July 21 – 2-4PM

Saturday, July 22 – 8-10AM

Please check back for additional dates as the season progresses.

Gravestone Cleaning Training – Beginners Workshop

Friends of Burial Hill offers conservation workshops to members free of charge. We will instruct you in the proper cleaning methods of gravestones, and how to document your work. We limit the workshops to 6 trainees. We supply all materials. Please contact us if interested.

You must pre-register; event takes place at Oak Grove Cemetery

Volunteer Opportunities:

Rotating Clean-up Teams – join a team, or form your own!

Cemetery Watch

If you are interested in helping to preserve Burial Hill, please email either

Cheryle:  cheryle.burialhillfriend@verizon.net

or June: june.burialhillfriend@hotmail.com